Annual Oration

The Annual Oration

The highlight of the Society’s academic year, the Annual Oration is an address to the campus community from a prominent public intellectual organized by the Society and usually featuring the co-sponsorship of multiple university departments, offices, and student groups.

Some previous Orators have included:
2016: John Mearsheimer, “The failure of US Policy in the Middle East”
2015: Sylvia Nasar, “The Revival of Marxism”
2014: Julian Treasure
2013: Richard Dawkins
2012: Gary Kasparov
2011: Jared Diamond, “Why Societies Fail or Choose to Succeed”
2010: Judith Butler, “From Performativity to Precarity”
2009: Stanley Fish
2008: Daniel Dennett
2007: Vali Nasr
2006: John Lukacs
2005: Malcolm Nance
2004: Arthur Miller
2003: Salman Rushdie
2001: Brian Greene
2002: Joe Klein
2000: Fareed Zakaria
1990: Joyce Carol Oates
1978, Tony Auth
1972: Susan Sontag
1968: Nat Hentoff, Is There Life Before Death?”
1966: Prof James MacGregor Burns, “Increase Planning”
1957: Hans Morgenthau
1956:Clyde K.M. Kluckhohn, “The Antropology of Russia”
1955: Henry Steele Commager
1888: Hampton L. Carson
1845 Henry Gilpin, “Enthusiasm”
1840: George Bethune, “Work”
1838: Prof. William Brad Reed, “The American Revolution”
1836: Thomas M. Pettitt, “Education”
1832: James C. Biddle, “The Real Patriot”
1827: Joseph Ingersoll, “The Value of a Study of the Classics”
1826: George Bacon Wood

Annual Orators of unknown dates include:
Joe Klein
Hon George Sharswood
Lincoln Eyre
John Ciardi
Ayn Rand
Andrew Sullivan
Camille Paglia
Fareed Zakaria
Margaret Mead
Jerzy Kosinski
C. Everett Koop
William Styron
George Plimpton